Day 281 (March 9, 2016)

281 Asleep

Three days of hard work and counting.  I got Jessie up at 7:00am.  I got her dressed in a pretty, frilly skirt.  The weather is warm and it feels like Spring.  The robins are hunting for worms in the yard.  The first daffodil in the yard is ready to explode.  So, Spring-like weather deserves dressing like it’s Spring.  I, on the other hand, donned the usual work clothes.  Look down, look down…

I’ve gotten into a bit of a rut with breakfast.  It’s been toast and banana lately.  I need to break that mold.

Jessie’s school was good.  She needs to review her math and note the things she’s absentmindedly left blank.  My fourth grade teacher, Miss Gresko, noted the same habit with me.  She called me careless.  I’ll not give Jessie a label.  We did the third module of biology.  It was seeds.  It seems like the material is more esoteric than with animal biology.  Jessie seems less interested to learn about pistils, stamens, stigmas, and anthers than butterflies, bunnies, and seahorses.  I don’t think I’ll worry about it.  There are only four plant lessons.  On the other hand, I thought the material on leaves was fascinating.  Do you know what’s on the upper and underside of leaves?  Do you know why they drop off the tree?  Do you know why they change colors?  Because of Jessie’s lessons, I know.  It’s fascinating.  I wish they would have taught that stuff when I was in school (Translation:  When I was in school, they taught it, but like Jessie, I didn’t pay attention.  Did you pay attention and can you answer the three leaf questions?  I am amazed at the intricate handiwork of God in a simple leaf).

While we were doing school, the floor guys came to do the fine sanding.  It doesn’t look good, dear friends.  Nearly ten gallons of hydrogen peroxide didn’t seem to do the trick.  I think the cat pea stains are going to be very prominent.  They’ll be back Friday, so I have a day and a half to try to get out any stains I can.  The upstairs floors look great, but I’m afraid these will be so-so.  I’ll keep you posted.  Does anyone know of a good place to get floor rugs?

In the afternoon, Jessie practiced violin.  We cleaned the upstairs floors and the kitchen.  Then, we went to Kohl’s, Gabriel’s, and Kroger.

Supper was Korean Bar-b-que beef over rice noodles.

I talked to Jessie’s sister on the phone.  Jessie fell asleep while we were talking.  We’ll read our evening Bible in the morning, or not.  I prayed.  Day 281 ended.

Blessings:  God’s mercy and forgiveness.  May I be more merciful and forgiving.  Even though cat pea stains don’t always come out but rather remain to spoil the beauty of God’s creation on woodwork, Jesus’ blood cleanses until we are white as snow.  Even though I may not have perfect floors, I can still look at the leaves on the trees in the yard and be in awe of how God made leaves that are here for half a year, then whither and fall.

Leave a Reply

