Day 141 (October 21, 2015)

141 Habitats 2 141 Habitats1 copy

I slept in again until 5am.  I’m getting to be a regular slug.

I skipped caffeinated tea this morn.  I usually alternate between caffeinated and decaffeinated.  But, since caffeine is a cousin to osteo, I’m on decaffeinated and herbal.  So ends a forty-year love affair with my morning cups of tea, but life moves on.  It could be worse.  It could be diabetes.

With no contractors and no doctor appointments, Jessie and I had a less disjointed school morning.  The letter from the public schools arrived and we’re approved and legal to home school.  I can’t wait for the first PTA meeting!  So, it’s official.  I have a new title:  Jessie’s teacher.  I’m not sure I’ll ever live up to it.  I know I’m not up to the task of other titles preceded by the word Jessie’s.

We finished the first two weeks of biology and Jessie finished a really cool biology lapbook on biology habitats.  She took two quizzes and got 100’s on both.  The next subject is mammals.

Jessie read all three of her history books by herself and we haven’t started the subject yet.

I started removing the caulk from the brick where the awning used to be.  We got the custom storm windows for the leaded windows upstairs and they fit.  I fixed the cable on the garage door and now I don’t need to be Mr. America to open and close it.

I cut up a pork loin and divided it into chops and fatty portions.  I diced about two cups of pork that will go into the evening’s stir-fry.

I had a 10% off coupon from Lowes that was about to expire.  So, we went there and spent about two hours getting all the materials for re-wiring the five old circuits.

We hauled three dumpsters and nine bags of trash to the curb for Thursday trash day.  I’m hoping they take it all.  Alas, we got the metal out to the curb too late for the metal scavengers to get it.

We talked to three of Jessie’s siblings.  We should have gone for a walk.  These amazing fall nights will soon be gone.  But, instead, we ended day 141 and went to bed.

Blessings:  Evening and morning Bible reading, Scripture memory songs, Philippians 4:6-7, Herbal tea and life’s trivial adjustments, No doctor has told me I can’t have chocolate, Custom-ordered windows that fit.

P.S.  I know you’ll be on tenterhooks to see if they take all the trash, but you’ll just have to wait ‘til tomorrow to find out.  Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

